Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I really want to get a newer Rav4 3 door cruiser here in the US and I know they were discontinued. But in Europe and Australia I saw some and was wondering how hard to get one to Washington State. I have a 97 but would really like to get a newer one. Any suggestions.

·
Premium Member
3,345 Posts
I'd also like to get one into Washington State :roll:

But...

My opinion... not very feasable. Sure... it's probably possible, but what happens when/if you ever need replacement parts? Plus... it will be right hand drive :shock:

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are lefthand drive 3 Door RAV4's in Europe but maybe I am wrong I am no expert ;) Does the States still get LHD motor bikes :) Now where did I put my right hand drive keyboard I use with my PC :lol:

·
Registered
3,066 Posts
If you have the money it may be possible.

I shipped a Suzuki Jeep to Italy 15 years ago when I studied there.
But it was over 5 years old at the time.
I had tinted window wich at the time where illegal. Whenever i would travel and look around Pininfarinas windtunnel/factory where they made and tested Ferraris and Sergio or one of the family members would exit. The security eyes would be glued onto my car.
:shock:

These are some issues:

- Must meet with US Safety codes. May need modifications
- Most likely no warranty
- Shipping container (Your being importer) a few thousand
- Trip to Europe and shopping for it. Then physically shipping it out.
- Dealing with your friendly customs people (May charge you with some Fees like Import tax, Duty, etc.)
- like the other person said (some parts might not be in USA) Imagine shipping a large fender or something similar.
- How will your Auto insurance company handle it

Hope I was not being to negative :p

·
Registered
986 Posts