Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those who have had their Hybrid through a cold winter, your experience please.
Has the cold affected mpg and if so how much approx.?
How was the awd? How was your experience on icy or snowy roads, driveways?
Live in Anchorage, AK. Thinking about a replacement for our 07 Rav V6 coming up to 10yrs old next March.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
In extreme cold, the hybrid offers almost no advantage over a normal gas model. (but no worse) Once its fully warmed up on an extended trip, you'll save a few MPG. Short trips are very bad, just like any other car. Cold weather drivers usually employ a block heater and/or other vehicle heating systems to help out, but of course those use energy too.

The AWD-I system works very well but don't expect to use it to plow snow.

·
Registered
422 Posts
I have some very limited experience. The AWD-i system seems very competent I stopped uphill and started again on snow/ice several times. You can go very slow and smooth in a controlled manner.

If you turn slightly and give a lot of throttle then it will behave FWD and loose traction and jump sideways with the front wheels.

The heat seems very good and the de-icer has a generous surface area that keeps the wiper blades free from ice/snow.

This car gets up to temp very fast somehow but offcourse you will take a slight mpg hit.

I recommend block and cabin heater, I use my block heater all year round and it helps with mpg even during summer (less engine wear too I guess..)

Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk

·
Member-RAV4 ReGeneration
264 Posts