Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 09 V6 has 107k on it. I'm new to changing any fluids other than oil, really. So, if I have this right there are two transfer cases and how many differentials to do, three? And I plan to do the transmission fluid, coolant change, and I have to change one of my o2 sensors. I ordered that already. But what fluids and supplies do I need for the rest? And should I do the plugs myself or have a shop do them? The 6 looks complicates with the back 3 under part of the intake.

·
Registered
80 Posts
There is one transfer case and one differential that need oil changes (that are not part of the transmission). You will need 1 quart of gear oil to do both (but buy two in case you need a little exrra due to spillage or pump reach issues). I used Mobil 1 75W90 in mine. You will also need a gear oil pump (these are readily available in the marine section of walmart of you have trouble finding one). All the drain and fill caps have a 10mm socket head. A 3/8" drive 10mm Allen socket and 3" extension are pretty much required.

The transmission is nicely covered here: https://www.mystupidprojects.com/au...ransmission-fluid-and-filter/#Tools_and_Parts

The spark plugs are very easy. You just need to remove the top half of the intake manifold ton get to the rear plugs. There are 4 allen head bolts, two 10mm nuts, two 12mm bolts, 4 10mm bolts, two big hose clamps, a few small hoses and a couple of electrical plugs to remove. Whole job takes less than an hour. Have two 3" 3/8" drive extensions and a spark plug socket handy. The two 12mm bolts are on tha back and need to come out by feel. The one on the passenger side is easier to deal with if you leave the brakect on the manifold and remove the lower bolt. Put a rag over the 6 holes in the bottom half of the manifold while you have it apart, you do not wan;t anything to fall down those holes....

Replace your brake fluid, I use DOT4.

·