Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whenever the engine is warm and the A/C is turned on, the idle fluctuates between around 675 and 950 RPM. Without the A/C on it idles great at about 750! Any ideas?
Also I'm going to do a smoke test soon to test for vacuum/intake leaks, but I've never done it before and don't know where to put the smoke into!

·
Registered
1998 Rav4, manual transmission, 2WD, JDM engine installed in 2013
868 Posts
Weird idle with the A/C switch on is a symptom of a bad A/C system circuit (like a short somewhere). See page 20 of the attached diagnostic service manual section. I am looking for the relevant wiring diagram and the A/C service manual section.

What bothers me a little is that you just cleaned the IAC valve and throttle body, to address the engine dying at idle, right? The coincidence of today's problem with the problem just a few days ago (presumed resolved via cleaning the IAC valve and throttle body) is a bit troubling.

Attachments

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I do believe that it is a problem with the A/C and not the IACV because the problem I just described was present before I cleaned the valve :) and it only occurs when the A/C is on (I believe). And oddly enough, I'm having trouble finding the A/C service manual section as well

·
Registered
868 Posts
I am looking at what I think is the equivalent A/C service manual section for a 1998 Camry, and the check is just a continuity check of the switch when on and off. I think maybe the more prudent troubleshooting approach is to look at the a/c control switch on the electrical diagram. See PDF pages 158-159 of the attachment. (I think the 1996 Rav4 is the same as the 1998 Rav4 for the a/c switch troubleshooting et cetera.) Notice how the A/C control switch sends (or receives?) signals to the computer.