Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to this forum. I don't currently own a Rav4. Me and my wife have owned 2 Honda CR-Vs in the past 8 years and we love them, but we are planning a move cross country. We're going from San Diego to New Hampshire, so we're looking at 4wd models for the snow. One thing that led me to be interested in Rav4s is the limited V6 models. We are thinking of renting a Uhaul 5x8 trailer and just towing our things back in that. The max weight for the trailer and load is 2700 lbs, but the empty weight is only 900, so there's no way all of our stuff with the trailer would come even close to 2700 lbs.

Anyways, I have my eye on some Rav4s for sale, none of which come installed with a tow package. I do have to make somewhat of an economical decision as we need to be strategic with our finances between jobs. I am somewhat mechanically inclined. I'm not a professional mechanic, but I've done a pretty fair share of work on all of our vehicles. The models I'm looking at are 3rd generation (particularly 2007-2012 models) and I'm wondering if anyone here has experience installing tow packages into these, and what I'm looking at for cost? I have seen some youtube videos showing how to install additional tranny coolers by linking them into the existing factory cooler, but transmissions are not really my forte. Do all vehicles come with transmission cooling systems in front of the radiator? Is this an easy task to take on? I also read in another thread here that you have to be careful using additional tranny coolers in cold weather as it can increase risk of condensation within the fluid and then the need for thermal bypass valve. I was hoping for a simple solution, but depending on how far down the rabbit hole goes with this idea, I'm not sure all the extra work and money will be worth saving the money to tow all of our stuff back home.