Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a grad student and have a 96 RAV4 - purchased it 6 years ago for $1500 with 160k miles on it, and it now has 230k miles on it.

Background on my car:
I have not had any major problems with the car but I got hit with a lot of needed repairs: shocks, struts, brakes, drums. I know a guy who did all of that for a really good deal, so I kept the car instead of searching for another car. I have done a radiator flush, and I am religious about taking it to get the oil changed every 3000-5000 miles. I use conventional oil and stick with the Toyota manual recommendations. I recently decided to switch to bosch oil filters, or mobil 1- I figure it's a few bucks more, but, it might give me a little extra life on my engine. I've been throwing in seafoam treatments in the gas tank, and might throw one in the oil before my next oil change and immediately after per recommendations. I live in the upper midwest where rust is king, and I suspect that rust will claim my RAV before engine failure does. It really seems to be the little engine that could.

I love my RAV4- and I don't think it has failed me yet. I am a bit concerned about the gunk that could be building up in the engine, because I didn't really pay attention to this stuff for the first 5 years of car ownership.