Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting here, I've find some other useful advice here so I'm hoping I can get a few answers to a weird problem.

Ok so I've got a 1st Gen 1998 rav4, with 4 wheel drive an a manual transmission.

I appear to be leaking transmission fluid from where the transfer case connects to the transaxle, it's coming from near one of the bolts that connects the two together but I can't see very well. It's the bottom blue circle there on my picture. It's quite alot of fluid, a drip every few minuets. There also appears to be a bolt ontop of the transfer case that is only about 1/4 of the way in, and another that I can see a hole for but appears to be missing all together. I'm wondering if the shoddy mechanic didn't put the damn bolts all the way back in and that is what it causing my leak.

So my questions..
1. Dose anyone know if there is a seal of some kind between the transaxle and the transfer case or is there just a gasket?
2. Any idea how I get to the bolts ontop of that transfer case?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1999 Toyota RAV4 with 3MZ-FE 6 cylinder engine, camo wrap, OME lift, heavily modded
2,045 Posts
As far as I know that isn't a common place for a tranny leak. On mine it was one of the tranny cooling lines that ruptured while driving at 70 mph and it destroyed my tranny. The usual places I know of are around the cooling lines, cv joint seals, drive shaft seal, and around the drain plugs. The drain plugs after a fluid change and you don't change the compression seal.