Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Toyota RAV4
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to check my rear brakes to see if the shoes need to be replaced. I ordered OEM front brake pads already but I want to have the rear brake shoes in hand in case I need them. I have an appointment with a master mechanic (brother-in-law) in a couple of weeks. He is going to tutor me in how to do a brake job. Below is a photo of I believe the rear differential carrier. It looks like that point just left of the exhaust pipe has been used to jack up both rear wheels. Anyone agree/disagree with this? That point doesn't look that stout, but there's not much weight either.
Tire Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire
Tire Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire

·
Registered
1997 Manual 2 Door Rav4
54 Posts
The owner's manual for my 2 door says that the only proper place to jack is the rear suspension arm joints. It's possible that it's different for the four-door, but I personally use two jacks, one on each side.

·
Registered
1998 Toyota RAV4
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
The owner's manual for my 2 door says that the only proper place to jack is the rear suspension arm joints. It's possible that it's different for the four-door, but I personally use two jacks, one on each side.
By "jacks" do you mean jack stands or floor jacks? My reason for finding a central location for the floor jack is that I want both rear wheels off the ground. Then I will put my jack stands on both sides of the vehicle.

·
Registered
1997 Manual 2 Door Rav4
54 Posts
By "jacks" do you mean jack stands or floor jacks? My reason for finding a central location for the floor jack is that I want both rear wheels off the ground. Then I will put my jack stands on both sides of the vehicle.