Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2017 Limited Hybrid last week, with the standard stereo.

I am not satisfied with the sound. I have played with all the sound adjustments. It sounds like all the music is coming from the center of the dash. I know that all the speakers on the doors work..... It just has this monotone sound coming from one place. I have been driving for 35 years and have gotten use to better sound than this on all sorts of cars. Is it because of where the speakers are located? Is it the quality of the speakers?
In order to have some improvement I have to put ALL the sound to the rear speakers.
It's like all the sound is being bounced back into the center of the dashboard. And it is a brassy, tinny sound at times. Weird. I even turned off the radio a few times already because it bothers me. $35,000 and I don't want to use the radio.

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Its unusual to find a Limited without the tech package and JBL system, although people complain about that system too. They both use the same head unit. There is a 3-band EQ available to use that does help even in that system.

Get some mp3s on a USB drive and listen to that, it'll sound a bit better. Otherwise what assistance are you expecting here?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what assistance are you expecting here?
Well I was hoping someone might know something I don't about how to make the sound better.

·
Registered
202 Posts
I have the JBL Green-edge stereo in my Limited and still have to set the fade 2 notches towards the rear to get a better balance. The system (JBL or not) is pretty bad in general.
I think the only fix is replacing the head unit and speakers.

·
Premium Member
7,936 Posts
I have the JBL in mine, BT music from my phone sounds much better than AM/FM/XM, best advice is go with USB or BT music.

·
Registered
644 Posts
You are not alone. Search this forum for RAV4 Stereo.