Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I am starting with a pretty much factory stock 1998 4 door with AWD. I am just graduating college, and can't afford a new car, but the Rav needs a few improvements. 1 item in this list is really expensive, but it would be done if I got a new car, and that is the paint. Pretty much i want my vehicle to be unique to be a rolling advertisement for myself. I am a photographer (visit my site if u wanna see my work), and the rav makes a great vehicle for this line of work. I live in upper lower Michigan, so I have to contend with snow and lots of water, so I am debating a few things.

First, a cold air intake. Will driving through deep snow (it happens more than u think, they don't like to plow my road). I wasn't sure if it would suck up the snow and cause a hydro-lock. Or is that valve that was mentioned earlier in the CAI chain good enough to eliminate that problem? Wasn't there a mod where someone made a ram that got the air from under one of the headlights? Is a sports intake a better idea?

Next is cornering. I would like a bit better cornering, but don't really want to sacrafice my ride height/clearance. It is helpful when I gotta drive in the winter, and when i gotta hit some trails to get to trailheads. So any ideas on a way to improve the cornering a bit? Does anyone make sway bars to help with body roll? Is there a good set of shocks/springs I should get? I guess lowering it about 1 inch wouldn't be too bad either.