Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks! Newbie here. I've been monitoring the very informative threads here on RAV4World for a few months now and FINALLY bought my baby: RAV4.3 V6 Sport 2WD with option package B (SR, GY, EJ, CF, CD, RL,FE) in Flint Mica (Sport exclusive color; simply brilliant in sunlight).

The shotgun online quote system worked out very well with many smaller dealers quoting lower than the Toyota behemoth (only MSRP -$500) in El Monte. My final price with one of the smaller dealers was around invoice with free lifetime oil changes (I'm changing to Mobil 1 after 3kmiles) In and out of the dealership in ~ 1hr. without the usual haggling (the finance dude tried to sell the LoJack and extended warranty which I declined).

First impressions: It appears that few people even recognize the new RAV 4.3 with many onlookers in other SUVs peering curiously. A careless driver merged over to my lane without looking (Hello! DRLs!)but my RAV's quick response dodged the fool without breaking a sweat. 8)

LOVE the V6!!! I'm taking it easy on the accelerator but on the freeway I easily hit 80mph with the tach at a leisurely 2000+ rpm. I KNOW it will get stronger after break in (with 22/29MPG to boot). No noticeable torque steer when I mashed the gas in the demo. The Fender flares and 18" wheels are too cool; provides a wider stance to balance the tall roofline. Surprisingly, the tauter sports suspension with the 18s ride very well over the pathetic so. Cal freeways. The interior quality surpasses my leather equipped 03 Infiniti G35 sedan (which I'm considering trading in for an 07 G35 in Oct). The Toyota quality is superb even in a $20k+ vehicle. :)

Only gripe: they drilled 2 ugly holes in the front bumper for the license plate but no biggie.

Overall: BEST auto purchase transaction ever! :D

Next up: Zaino! then Pics!

(Photos added 5-23-06)

only 3 coats of Zaino so far. :D

·
Registered
264 Posts