Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2015XLE AWD with entune. I do not have the navigation option, however I would like to upgrade. Is there a way to upgrade the unit to a stock head unit with nav system or do I have to purchase an aftermarket unit?

·
Registered
258 Posts
Before you go to that expense, take a look at the map upgrade costs. Sometimes that can run $150 and for that type of money you can get a Garmin with lifetime maps. There are other posts here where people are changing out the head unit and it is sure nothing that I would want to try and do.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I agree - there's little incentive to purchase a costly navigation unit that you cannot update without paying more money (essentially a subscription fee if you think about it). Why not just use your phone or a Garmin as a navigation unit?

·
Registered
24 Posts
This thread is interesting to me and raises some questions.

I am very new to all this. Currently THINKING about getting a new RAV4 hybrid. I have been assuming I would want the nav package...but the question about paying regularly for updated maps certainly makes that less attractive - and it hadn't occurred to me that there would be an ongoing cost (see? I'm just starting out...).

Can anyone point me to a resource that has info about the ongoing costs/options for the nav unit?

Thank you.

·
Registered
7,917 Posts
The problem with these in-built systems is that it is technology dependent.
If I buy a 10-year old Lexus with maps on CD, there's a good chance that there is no updated maps for it and you're pretty much screwed at this point.
SD card might be here another 10 years. Technology changes so fast that it is hard to predict what will be supported in the future.

At least with your portable GPS, you can toss it out or replace it with the next "big" thing.