Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm new to this DIY on RAV4. While I was trying to replace my valve cover gasket, when I try to put back the 30mm nut, one of the spark plug tube/well got cross threaded. Now I can't screw back the 30mm nut down to hold the cover evenly. I think I need to replace the tube but I couldn't find any info on how to do it safely or correctly.

Can someone who had done it have any suggestion how to remove old tube out, and using what tools, will a plier do it? According to diagram of part 11191, there are threads on both ends, so I think at bottom, I need to screw down into engine. I'm thinking to use a hand plier and clamp into center of tube real tight with both hands and rotate it counter clockwise to remove, not sure if it will work or have enough torque. And to put in a new tube, add some of the ultra grey permatex sealant to bottom of tube and then screw it back into place with plier. Does this sound right?

See 11191

/ CAMRY/VISTA / toyota | part detail?JP-CarParts.com

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
609 Posts
My 99 Toyota shop manual does not show how to remove the tube from the head.
But to install the tube you coat the bottom threads with an adhesive and the torque the part to 39 ft/lbs using a nut and a 30mm socket.

I would try to get a die and see if I could clean up the threads enough to repair the tube.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. What's a die? I tried to clean the thread with Acetone but the thread is crossed on top so nut wont be able to screw all way down to tighten the cover. I also tried to reroute the thread with thin screw driver but without success. Maybe i'm using wrong tool.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
408 Posts