Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 240v receptacle at work right next to where I park my new RAV4Prime XSE
It was for a commercial air compressor so has a configuration I have never seen (see attached) I own the business and can do mods if necessary
I would like to use it for level 2 charging (4.5hrs) while I am at work.
I don’t know much about electric configurations just that I think this would be convenient if I could make it work.
Thanks in advance!
Camera lens Cameras & optics Gas Digital camera Film camera
Camera lens Cameras & optics Gas Digital camera Film camera

·
Registered
2019 Rav4 Hybrid LE Super White
137 Posts
Looks like an L15-30R receptacle (Here it is on the manufacture’s website)

the trick will be finding a male L-15-30R to female NEMA 14-50 adapter. I’ve looked but no luck (note that I’m not an electrician, and if you find such an adapter I make no promises it doesn’t let all the smoke out of the electronics as soon as you plus it in… but I’d have to assume the charging cord is fused somewhere, even if it’s a fuse that bricks the untit, to stop bad things from happening when you plug into high voltage)

·
Registered
584 Posts
well its a good indication you may have 30 amps available but you want to be sure . check the breaker and check the wire size before you do anything else . you may just need to replace the receptacle .
I second this wholeheartedly. Replacing the receptacle with something more universal would be easy. Double checking the gauge of the wire and the breaker is going to be most important.