Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! people im a newbie when it comes to forums :p and my english isnt to good. is it possible to upgrade my brakes from a celica 4x4 turbo to my rav? thinking about buying a crashed celica 4x4 turbo and use the 3sgte engine and brakes

:twisted:

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I don't know about that, but wasn't there a JDM version of the rav that came with rear discs? I actually maybe interested in this conversion also. And possibly taking the guts from a 3sgte also :twisted:

·
Super Moderator
1,554 Posts
Mohit said:
Aussie 98-00 RAV4.1s came with rear disc brakes
So how many pieces/parts would we have to source to make this work?? :D
Or did the US model 98-00 come with them as well?
will have to look into this...

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
As far as I can tell all US 4.1s have drums. My 98 AWD is drums. I want disks though. How hard would it be to convert is the question.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for replying :)

I think maybe the rav4 with 5 doors came in some countries with disc brakes... have seen pictures.. I think I'll have to call the local toyota dealer and ask them about it.
And do you people know of anyone who has made an 3sfe swap with a 3sgte? i know the engine fits but is there alot of work with the wireing and the transmission?

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7