Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been on a wild goose chase with my wife's Rav4. The check engine, VSC and 4WD lights are on and the only code I get is P0441. I have replaced the charcoal canister and the purge valve under the hood and the problem still exists. I have had it in the shop and they did a smoke test on it and they found no leaks. Any advice on what to look at next? A couple people at work said I should replace the PCV valve and see if that helps. Her vehicle also burns oil and it doesn't get the best gas mileage anymore which a couple of people say could be the PCV vlave. Overall, I'm at a loss since the mechanics said to replace the charcoal canister and the purge vlave and I'm still having trouble.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
I'm no expert in this except that after reading a lot of posts from the oil burning 2006-2008 (4-cyl 2.4L engine) RAVs, there seem to be a lot concerning failing sensors, catalytic converters and other emissions problems which I can only surmise is related to the excessive oil burning.

How many miles on her car, what level of oil burning have you obsrved, and have you taken it in for the 'oil burning consumption' test at a Toyota dealer?

It certainly couldn't hurt to replace the PCV valve to see if it helps. Looking at a manual, it appears to be an easy replacement item due to location.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Her car has around 120,000 miles on it. I add about 1/2 a quart every 1000 miles or so. She has a couple of recalls out on her car that we need to get fixed so I might have the dealer look at it then. Our Toyota dealership here is notorious for scamming people so I honestly don't want to take my vehicle there but maybe the oil burn is the problem.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts