Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
New 2012 V6 Owner - (Old) Kid with a New (Used) Toy.

Hi all!
I've been driving a 2004 Ford Escape V6 for the past 12 years and have put 236k miles on it. I has served me well and still doesn't burn a bit of oil, but the little repairs are starting to become more frequent, so I thought it was time to start looking for a suitable replacement. I liked the size of the Escape and it always did a good job of getting me in and out of my steep mountain driveway in the snow. Fuel economy wasn't the greatest and I found the power to be adequate (200hp, 3L) but a little bit lacking at times, especially when passing another vehicle or hauling a good load at high altitudes.

I started looking for something similar, but hopefully with better fuel economy and more power. After reading reviews, doing comparisons, watching YouTube videos and last, but not least, reading owners comments on this forum, I decided that a RAV4 V6 was the car for me. To make a long story short, I flew from Colorado to Georgia on Saturday to pick up a well-equipped 4WD, as the deal I found made it well worth the cost of the flight and the gas money to drive it back. As a bonus, I've gotten to see family and friends in the Carolinas, Indiana, Illinois and am now in Iowa seeing my daughter and playing with my grandkids before heading back to Colorado in a few days.