·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
11,131 Posts
What's with the blower and the magnets????? I've been driving for 50 years and NEVER seen anything like this. Please explain.

·
Registered
189 Posts
i think hes trying to help to bring down remaining oil into the drain hole. just make it faster to flow down.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Hi RTexasF & ashtony,
After using the engine Oil Flush, it turns the oil very 'watery', and I use the blower to blow it ALL out. I used to let it drain overnight, but the blower makes it quicker. BTW, my engine oil was fairly clean, but after the 'flush', it came out black as, so I 'think' it works. As the ad says, 'Why put clean oil into a dirty engine'. (Nice clean oil now, no, it's not overfull, stupid camera!)

Years ago I bought a used 6cyl Ford Falcon, I serviced it and used a magnet on the oil filter. Next service, I removed the oil filter, a LOT of very small ball-bearing-like
pieces of metal came out the filter, I've never forgotten that, that's why I put the magnets on. BTW, this is the first time I stuck 'em on the Rav oil filter. I'll report back in 5000km time. Hope this helps.

Attachments

·
Registered
731 Posts
If you have metallic particles in the oil, you have internal engine issues. The magnet is only capturing the pieces. The real problem is the engine is coming apart, and not even a 2 ton NdFeB magnet will save it.

As for the leaf blower, you are putting a LOT of pressure in your crankcase, way more than it was designed for.

When I change my own oil, it is when the engine is hot. I pull the plug, let it drain overnight, reinstall the plug in the morning, change the filter, fill the crankcase, air up the tires, top off all the fluids, put a new sticker on the windshield and it's good to go for another 4000 miles.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #7