Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Mensa
In the UK this product is sold as Apollo Universal Closed Air Intake System and is made by K/N. It has a capability of handling 300 BHP. It retails for about £200 and has been available for about 12 months.It has acotton gauze filter cone.
Hopes this helps!
Clare

B

·
0 Posts
Better Gas Mileage?!

I am new to the RAV4 world and i was just wondering if anyone had any tips on better gas mileage?! I am used to a 2001 Toyota Celica and now having the 1998 Rav4 i have noticed a SIGNIFICANT loss of MPG!!! I replaced my pcv valve(mind you i know NOTHING about cars) and I was told to get a k&n filter. Any other suggestions?! right now i am only getting 20-22 mpg on my AWD Rav. thanks!!

·
Registered
10,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I guess if you install a header it will help a great deal. If you have the 3SFE engine. You can buy it at Summit Racing for about $156.00. Use Castrol 5W-30 oil, but if you bought your RAV4 used, I'd recommend a Motor Flush also, then go to the Castrol oil specified above. Check your gearbox/transmission/axle oil. Change if necessary to Toyota specifications.. I could recommend some other stuff but they are pricey. Let me know if you are interested.

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
bluecelica01, what was your mileage before the loss? Your 20-22 MPG seems about right to me. I too have a 1998 RAV4 (mine's a 2WD auto) and average about the same mileage as you since owning it 5 years ago.

The performance mods. certainly doesn't help, but I've noticed that I haven't really lost much MPG either. I do have a heavy right foot, so that probably attributes to the mileage that I've been obtaining. :D

·
Registered
10,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #9