Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings All,

Just became the second owner of a 1998 RAV4 with 161,000 miles. Needed a car for my daughter for the summer when she arrives home from school. Found this car that the original owner didn’t anticipate selling, and as a result he installed new tires in January 2016. The list of the major repairs he already did are below. It was not Toyota serviced, but the previous owner said he knows the mechanic for 30 years and trusts him. I’m new to RAV4 but I think I have been bitten by the bug. I may want to take this car to 250,000 miles or more.I paid $2800, which I thought was high, but the new tires, brakes, shocks and relatively recent timing belt service sold me. The car looks like an 18 year old car...but not terrible. I’ve already replaced the battery and ordered a new Bluetooth Stereo from Crutchfield that I will install myself. I’ve also set about repairing all the small issues that I can address on my own. I think I’m gonna give my daughter my 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe...and I’m gonna drive this for the summer. As strange as it sounds, I ENJOY driving this relatively simple little truck more than my Santa Fe....go figure! Your thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated....Thanks in advance

1/2016 159,706 miles - New Tires

12/2015 159,517 miles- Left front axle seal replaced

9/2015 - 157,471 miles New Front Brakes (pads only), New rear shocks

12/2014 - 149,924 miles - Cooling system Flush, Replace Left Front Axle

4/2014 - 142,155 miles - New Timing Belt, Water Pump, Oil Pump Gasket and Steering Gear (complete)

3/2014 - 141736 miles - New Spark Plugs and wires New Fuel o-rings

1/2014 - 137,785 miles - New heater core

12/2013 - 137,200 miles - New air fuel ratio sensor & New Thermostat, clean fuel system

5/2013 - 132,100 miles - New AC Compressor and New Passenger side axle and replace hoses

7/2012 - 124,500 - New Alternator