Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Afternoon!

I'm glad I've joined this interesting website to learn more about my new (to me) vehicle. I'll level with you all, I'm a college student who purchased this vehicle because I've only driven Toyota's (1999 Camry; (totaled, not my fault.) 1996 Tacoma (still have, 245k miles strong.)) so I figured this would be a great purchase especially for the price.

The vehicle has 117,000 miles, no rust and it drives great. NADA has it at around 6,000 or so and I purchased for 3500. I have a few concerns I'd love to get some input on.

The ECM. The dreaded ECM. I'm going to assume it hasn't been worked on, as the small dealer I purchased it from hadn't had a clue. Right now, it doesn't seem to have an issue. Transmission is great. I looked at service records, which I bought in hopes to see if something had been done, and nothing came up. So are there any suggestions as to what I should do? Should I do preventative maintenence on it? I'm a college student as a I said, and I'd love for this to last for 4 years at least.

Are there any other common issues I should be aware of? I'm a car savvy guy I'd like to think, and I want to make this vehicle last so I want to take care of it.

Also, any idea where I can buy a new rear wiper arm? For whatever reason, the previous owner had removed it. I haven't found it easily for purchase.

Lastly, today, I had the check engine light come on again. It was on late last week and I replaced the fuel cap first, cleared the codes and they just came back after about 150 miles. Here they are: PO440 (EVAP Emission Control System Malfunction) PO441 (Emision Control System Purge Flow Fault) & PO446 (EVAP Emission control system vent circuit malfunction.) What should I look into next? Is it something I should bring to the shop for since it can become complicated???