Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2005 RAV4 2.4L Manual
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2005 RAV4 (base trim) with 75k miles on it. I'm the 3rd owner, and its been in Colorado its whole life. Based on what I saw and the pre-purchase inspection, the car is in quite good shape. It needed a new battery, rear shocks, and some fluids changed like the oil and rear diff fluid. I grew up helping my dad do minor repairs and maintenance on our family car, so I know a bit, but I'm still fairly new to working on cars in general.

I already replaced the battery, and put in new rear shocks. I also have an appointment to get the oil changed, rear differential fluid changed, and a general inspection. I am trying to do as much work on the car myself as I can, mostly because I think its fun, but also to save some money. I know something like an oil change is easy, but I wanted to get the car in to have a full inspection anyway, so I figured I would just have the shop do the fluid changes while it was there.

I already have some projects planned like installing a Viper 211HV module for keyless entry and possibly replacing the radio with something more modern.

Anyway, this car only has 75k miles, and I want to take good care of it and drive it for as long as possible. What sort of things should I be aware of with these 2nd gen RAV4s? What are the common issues I need to look out for? What work is worth trying to do myself and what isn't? I've noticed that the exhaust is pretty rusty, what issues should I be looking out for with that?

Sorry if this is all over the place. Thanks for your thoughts and experience! I'm excited to join this great community.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Welcome, and good find (y)