Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am newbie here, and this is my first post. I am going to look at '05 RAV4's today. I am curious about how much others have paid above invoice for their '05. Hopefully with any luck, I will get the deal I'm looking for.

ScottyDaug

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Remember that most so called invoice prices don't reflect the approximate 2% withhold that the dealer gets after the sale. Plus in the Southeast USA region the Toyota SE Distributor charges the dealers about $600 over the true invoice. Most dealers then add this fee to the invoice they show potential customers. Never believe the dealer printed invoice figure that they show everyone. Get them to show you the invoice that has the Toyota logo and looks like a true invocie document. Most dealers will not let you see this document.

So if you are paying the fudged "invoice", then the dealer is making about $1000 or so.

Use Edmonds and Kelly Blue book for a start. Kelly actually shows the SE Distr fee and since Toyota USA references Edmonds info don't let them tell you tell you Edmonds is too low.

It is the end of the model year and the last of this model RAV4. You should be able to get a very good deal on a vehicle on the lot. You should be able to get under the fudged invoice that they show you.

Go to carbuyingtips.com for a great spread sheet that you can complete to prepare you for negotiations.

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cars.com, edmunds.com, fightingchance.com all offer information on true factory invoice pricesfor cars and their options

Toyota has a 2% holdback & a 1% wholesale financial reserve, allowing the dealer to make 3% off of MSRP price.

Follow equation:

True invoice price of car & options - 3% of MSRP of that same car - any incentive + dealer profit (usually what youre willing to give, maybe $300) + destination fee of about $540