Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all i'm a newbie here, i have a 96 Rav 4 i got from my brother for free since he gave up on repairing it. Its a 2 wheel drive 2.0L and it started up and ran fine. There was water shooting out down by the water pump so he decided to change it out. He put it all back together and now there is no spark and no start. I have searched this site and found lots of information i plan to try but i'm guessing he probably got the timing off but if that is the case would there still be a spark or not? Then also the cel does not come on while cranking either. Then there is the issue of pressure accruing in the cooling system while cranking, im talking enough pressure to make a good hissing sound from the radiator cap when you remove it. So if anyone out there has ever encountered this i would be very great full for your help on this or anyone with some info would be greatly appreciated as well!!! Thanks in advance!!!

·
Super Moderator
10,129 Posts
No matter how far off the timing might be there should NEVER be cylinder pressure in the cooling system unless the head gasket is blown. My advice - unless you can do major repairs yourself give it back to your brother!

·
Premium Member
1999 Toyota RAV4 with 3MZ-FE 6 cylinder engine, camo wrap, OME lift, heavily modded
2,044 Posts
The lack of spark is probably because your brother didn't hook the crank position sensor back up. It is at the bottom of the engine passenger side just below the A/C compressor. There should be a wire running from the wire harness that runs over the top of the valve cover (again on the passenger side) and then down the side of the engine to the sensor. You may need to pull the passenger tire and splash shields to gain access.

See photo https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0N4qdhM8CoaRGN5NnY3TXBlQ00