Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This thread may horrify some people.

Let me just say that I am in the fortunate position that I have enough skills and not enough judgement to partially disassemble a brand new ( less than 100 km) 2017 Rav4 and mess with it.

The reason I did this is simple: almost all the problems I have had with our first Rav4 were mouse related. I had to diagnose and repair wires on 5 separate occasions and I suspect the reason the AC went was mouse related as well. I also took the interior of the car apart several times to remove a rotting carcass.

I had similar problems with my Matrix although I only had 1 chewed wire but I still had to take it apart to remove the occasional mouse corpse.

I studied the Matrix carefully and determined the fresh air intake was the main entry point for the mice. Mice also probably entered by the air outlet vents. There were signs mice went into the engine air filter as well.

I decided to place hardware cloth on all main access points in the Matrix. So far so good.

So when I got the new Rav4 I decided the first thing I would do when I got it home is take it apart and seal the known entry points.

I know I might jeopardize my warranty but mouse related damage is not covered so I think I'll come out ahead.

You make think I'm crazy for doing this but if you have had mouse problems it might be an option to consider.

I am also working on a chemical solution to chewing on engine compartment (and interior) wires.

If you decide to do what I did,do so at your own risk. I can afford whatever damage I might have caused.

There are 4 major steps involved: sealing off the engine air filter, sealing off the ventilation intake, protecting the cabin filter (just in case) and sealing the air outlet vents.

Because I don't know how to do a photo essay on this forum it will take multiple posts.