Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i will install the OEM hood deflector myself this week coz i dont want to pay another extra dollars to be installed at the dealer..my worry is about measuring the right distance of the bump-ons...whats the trick to land on the exact measurement? should i measure it straight with the tape measure or go with the curve of the hood? ..hehe sorry its my first time. I just dont want to mess it up..thanks

·
Registered
32 Posts
Are you from Canada? We don't have the factory hood deflector available in the U.S. The Weathertech hood deflector I purchased was a simple install, less than 10 minutes, you use the holes already in the hood, and it looks great. Check it out, it may be what your looking for if the factory one gives you fits.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yup im from Canada, i was debating whether to get the weathertech or the OEM's. but i dont have any pictures to see what the weathertech looks like on the rav4, thats why i landed grabbing this OEM ones..i just dont want to mess up with attaching the bump ons. Thanks anyways

·
Registered
721 Posts
Hi Mice, I installed my OEM hood deflector myself 2 years ago so my memory is somewhat hazy but I think I accounted for the curve of the hood. Anyway, it fits well and looks good after 2 years of bugs and stones. A good investment imho.

Good luck,

Joe

·
Registered
846 Posts
How about 3M bra's? We have one on our 11 Accord and so far it's held up nicely though I haven't seen any stone chips anywhere on the hood and we do a bit of highway driving.

·
Registered
314 Posts
I just bought a bug deflector from Weather Tech for my 2015 RAV. as well as the front and rear window guards. When I get them, I'll post some photos of the installation.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
@ravster2015 yeah i like to see those window guards i might purchase those next..