Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can buy a tow bar for $220 and my mechanic will fit it. I can get a new one fully fitted for $491.
My mechanic wants to know is a simple install so i can get it done a lot cheaper. or is is it a complicated one requiring everything being pulled out underneath? where by i wouldent get it done much cheaper.
All information welcome.

I am new to RAV4 Forum a few months ago my engine put a rod through the block. but i really love my manual RAV 4 2001 i spent $6000 having a new motor only done 92,000 new clutch new radiator and some other bits and pieces. i love my RAV. I have to go to Perth to pick up some windows and sliding glass door from Perth, None of the Delivery companies will do the job because the stuff is not properly packed. (getting it from a salvage yard) So i gotta get a tow ball put on and collect it myself with a trailer. So i am trying to keep costs down.

·
Super Moderator
10,153 Posts
I moved your thread to the 4.2 forum where you'll likely get more responses.

I've installed hitch receivers on two 4.3s, not your model but they all should be a simple & quick 4-bolt mount.
What takes the time is the wiring and that ranges from just trailer lights with a 4-flat connector to adding a brake controller and live trailer power with a 7-round connector. I've done one of each taking about one and three hours respectively.

So it depends on how much the $500 deal includes and actually the $220 for just the hitch receiver sounds high but that's in USD.

·
Registered
8,538 Posts