Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the next couple of years I will replace my FJ cruiser the new rav is a candidate, my days of heavy off-roading are behind me so the fj is now overkill I tow a 1200 kg van and do light off road that the rav should handle as a ex mechanic I learnt to buy a new model after the first update.

·
Registered
453 Posts
1200kg? Look at the towing capacities. Not familiar with the NZ models, but for the US models, towing capacity for all the 4 cyl ones, it is 1500 lbs. The V6 models have the base towing at 2000lbs and, only with towing package (option TO), 3500lbs. In kg that is 680 kg, 900 kg, 1590 kg respectively.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,614 Posts
Does anyone know what's different in the base towing vs towing kit?
Yes, towing prep package was only offered on V6. It included larger radiator and electric fans, larger alternator, and a wire going from the TOW fuse under the bonnet through the firewall to a spot under the dash.

·
Registered
453 Posts
The radiator on the TO is just slightly longer but much "thicker". Also there are some "dog ears" installed under the rear bumper, where the factory receiver bar would be installed. Those provide additional mounting points.
Personally, if I would tow, I would definitely add a supplementary cooler for transmission. Too hot here in the summer.

PS: I was looking to get a cheaper receiver bar than the OE one, but they are all connected in less points than the OE one. I have a feeling that the lower number of connection points adds extra stress to the rear frame.

·
Registered
74 Posts