Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realize this may seem like a total noob thing to post, but I've done plenty of research. I realize the fairly common traction control issue I'm having is not just from the struts, but also the steering rack bushings, however, my struts (especially rears) are definitely in need of replacing. This brings me to the point. I want decent struts, but want to keep it under $100 per strut. I've read so many mixed reviews on struts from old threads that I'm hoping to find a newer better option. I've come up short on my searches and now I'm asking for help.

I've read that Bilstein sports are optimal, but the only Bilstens that seem to work for this car are the twin tube (atleast for the rears) and I can't find any input on their durability and/or ride quality. I want a balance between comfort and handling and I want them to last more than a year or two. I've pretty much narrowed my search to OEM (Tokico) or these Bilsteins.

Are the Bilsteins for this car a good strut? How do they compare to OEM (Tokico)?

Please help me out with this, I will appreciate it very much.

Thank you!

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It would have been nice to get some kind of reply, but I figured it out and made a decision on my own, mostly due to lack of quality information. The Bilstein B4's are the only Bilsteins I could find for the 2nd gen Rav4, and I couldn't find enough info to encourage me to get them. KYB and Monroe seem hit or miss and the Tokico OEM that came on the car lasted a good while and have good performance to comfort ratio IMO.