Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am new here.

I have rav4 2003 (restyling) 2.0 D4D for almost a year, and lately trip computer started displaying that my average consumption is 13.5 liter per 100km.
But when I change to current consumption and when I am driving and when i release pedal he is showing 35 liters consumption. And more I add gas it is showing smaller number.

Anyone had this problem before?

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,912 Posts
Since you have a 2.0 D4D, I assume you are not in North America, so I have no experiences with the various options on your RAV.

So, just guessing, do you have an option to change from L/100km to MPG?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I am not in North America, I am in Europe. And as @pico said that comes 17.42 MPG.

My regular consumption that was earlier displayed was 32.6 MPG. And now when I manually calculate it comes around that 32,33 MPG.

So it is just problem with trip computer

·
Registered
1,912 Posts
But when I change to current consumption and when I am driving and when i release pedal he is showing 35 liters consumption. And more I add gas it is showing smaller number.
That is what you would expect on a gauge that displays MPG. With a gauge that displays L/100km you would see a low number when you release the pedal, and a higher number when you add gas.

Since it seems to be showing the characteristics of a MPG gauge and not the L/100KM that you are accustomed to, that is why I suspect an option is changed.

My regular consumption that was earlier displayed was 32.6 MPG. And now when I manually calculate it comes around that 32,33 MPG.
Now I am confused because in your first post you said the RAV displayed L/100KM and now you say the earlier displayed value was 32.6 MPG.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6