Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
I know that there is a separate modifications thread, but I wanted to use this thread to keep track of the modifications I made specifically to my vehicle as well, kind of like a baby album :) Let me know if you want instructions or details into how some of these items were made and I'd be happy to share!

Current Mods:
1. Yakima roof rack. Attached with U-bolts from home depot (kinda janky, I know) and wrapped with bungee cord. As an aerospace engineer, I know that a turbulent airflow that is induced by the cord reduces flow separation over a circular cross section, and therefore reduces drag and noise! Might consider making a wind deflector in the future though if that is more effective.
Total cost <$50 off of craigslist

2. Camper platform. Modular so that you can still use the platform and have passengers in the back. Made from 4x8 plywood, 2x4s, door hinges, and outdoor carpeting. If you want dimensions to make your own, let me know! The whole thing folds down and fits in the trunk nicely too, and only weighs about 50-75lb.
Total cost ~$75 from Home Depot

3. Blackout/reflective shades for all the windows. Can be used to stealthily sleep in parking lots at night or keep the car warm/cool in the winter/summer.
Total cost ~$25 from Home Depot

4. LED bar over the trunk as additional light with trunk open/shut. Great for being able to work in the trunk and rearrange things at night when the tiny cargo space light doesn't suffice.
Total cost $5 from 5below

Future Mods:
1. Hella horn - I like how it sounds compared to the stock horn which is so dinky
2. Some kind of foldable/rollable awning from tarp that attaches to the roof basket.
3. Fabricate/buy a brush guard/grille guard that is functional, not only for cosmetics
4. Tow hitch
5. Fabricate a skidplate
6. Lift kit when I can find any online...
7. Bigger wheels