Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
2GR-FE is also in the Venza which has a very nice AWD drive train and fancy 6 speed which are a lot nicer than the rav 4.3. All of which does not stand much of a chance of fitting in a 4.1 or 4.2. The Venza is huge, even bigger than the rav 4.3 and bigger than the Avalon. The Venza drive train is sweet but the area under the hood is massive and its still a some what crowded bay. Of course in a 4.1 a built 2az-fe from a 4.2 rav, scion tc, or camry would be quite fast and there a lot of tuner kits for the 2az-fe since the scion tc has a cult following.

·
Registered
300 Posts
I just googled 3mz and saw celica conversions - that looks promising and since it's a common engine you could probably find a very cheap donor car.

·
Registered
2,213 Posts
I would definitely contact user the The Drifter (certified mechanic who has done engine swaps before) or wolf tm250 (who is an engine builder by trade).
Both are not visiting this forum at the moment, so you will have to PM them and hope for the best.

They can help you further in the search for the best fitting and best solution for what you like to do. Notice that replacing an engine usually is VERY time consuming, very costly and a headache for the not so experienced DIY-er. Also notice that a lot of the engines out there for sure will not fit in the RAV4. There are fairly limited amount of real fits.
Plus you have to serious take into account your 4WD system which can be easily getting you into trouble if not fitting properly.
Greetz

Pim

·
Registered
10,239 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I would definitely contact user the The Drifter (certified mechanic who has done engine swaps before) or wolf tm250 (who is an engine builder by trade).
Both are not visiting this forum at the moment, so you will have to PM them and hope for the best.