Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I completed my 50k oil change on my 2014 XLE last week. The plastic filter housing had rounded over on the edges completely. Taking off the filter housing was a ridiculous monster of a task. Upon looking at it, I am amazed Toyota made such a bonehead design mistake. As an engineer, I would love to beat half to death the idiot of an engineer who designed a relatively high torque application with a plastic body. Anyway, if you haven't already done so, there is a full metal replacement for the plastic filter housing available on Amazom.com. The APDTY 028127 Oil Filter Aluminum Cap Housing with Tube Assortment was $26.00. Even though I wasn't due for an oil change a week after the last change, I went ahead and replaced my plastic one while it was relatively loose from being handled a week ago. It was still a ridiculous task to get off. The metal replacement went right on (only lost maybe 0.25 qt of oil just replacing filter housing). The assembly is made for several Toyota models with the same apparently stupid design, so it comes with three tubes that the filter cartridge slides over. You match the length of tube to the one in your RAV4, which turned out to be the middle length that was conveniently already installed on the filter housing. I threw the other two tubes in the garbage along with the stupid plastic filter housing. The filter cap now latches securely onto the full metal ribs of the housing. Problem hopefully solved. $26 VERY WELL spent!! I hope this helps someone before you try to take off a round plastic filter housing.

·
Registered
9,025 Posts