Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My radiator is leaking from a few different places and I have been filling it for a few months.

Decided to get a new radiator from Toyota today. $170 something.

What else should I change while I am doing it? Hoses?
I know Freon will be refilled because AC is connected to the radiator.

I want to make sure I change anything that goes with it as it would be cheaper to take care of it together.
Anything around that area not really a part of the cooling system?

Thanks.

·
Registered
881 Posts
My radiator is leaking from a few different places and I have been filling it for a few months.

Decided to get a new radiator from Toyota today. $170 something.

What else should I change while I am doing it? Hoses?
I know Freon will be refilled because AC is connected to the radiator.

I want to make sure I change anything that goes with it as it would be cheaper to take care of it together.
Anything around that area not really a part of the cooling system?

Thanks.
Luckily the AC condenser is not connected to the radiator, it is in front of it and shouldn't need to be touched to change the radiator. If you have a transmission oil cooler that would be connected to the radiator at the bottom. I would change hoses/clamps and the thermostat since you are flushing the fluid and they are cheap. If it's a genuine Toyota radiator you can reuse your rad cap but if it's aftermarket, make sure to get the rad cap that goes with it, they are not all the same even if they fit (learned that the hard way).

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #3