Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just installed my Sirius Radio (suction mount on the windshield) and I have it powered by the 12v socket in the front and the sound through the aux input in the center console. i get a high pitched noise, which varies depending on whether or not i am accelerating. how can this be avoided? Also, how easy is it to power the radio without using the 12v socket...considering i have NO electrical experience. thanks!!

·
Premium Member
3,345 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
schwartzy1 said:
Just installed my Sirius Radio (suction mount on the windshield) and I have it powered by the 12v socket in the front and the sound through the aux input in the center console. i get a high pitched noise, which varies depending on whether or not i am accelerating. how can this be avoided? Also, how easy is it to power the radio without using the 12v socket...considering i have NO electrical experience. thanks!!
Check out my Album for my XM install. You should get a stereo shop to hard wire it like I did. Does your Sirius radio have the built in wireless FM Modulator? It may cost you $100-$150 to get this done, but it will be much cleaner and they can fix your sound issues. :D

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My sirius radio has a wireless FM transmitter (not sure if that is what you meant). Will messing with the wires void the warranty on the car? I just need to find a place for power, i dont mind having the cord running out of the console for the aux input (since thats where i get the best sound)

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just looking through the rav manual and saw that there is a fuse right above the floor on the drivers side, under the dashboard. How can i connect my sat. radio to it?

·
Registered
35 Posts
Alternator Filter