Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My RAV is a 2007 and I have always used Mobile 1 5w-30 synthetic. I have about 129,000 miles on her. I always see the high mileage oils on the shelves.

Is it wise or necessary to change oils or what I have been using for the past 9 years perfectly good? Thanks for any feeback.

·
Super Moderator
11,097 Posts
Unless it's using a lot of oil I see no advantage in changing. Which engine?

·
Registered
403 Posts
Mobile 1 is a good quality oil. I see no reason to switch. At what interval do you change the oil?

·
Registered
8,524 Posts
I don't know that whether one uses synthetic or conventional oil makes much if any difference. Had my RAV in for service at the dealer last week and spoke with another owner who said he has 280,000 miles on his RAV V6. Said he has his RAV serviced at that dealer and service department has always put in regular 5w-30, and that his RAV still doesn't use any oil between changes.

A couple of years ago during another service another owner and I chatted - said he had 250,000 miles on his V6, used conventional oil and his didn't use any oil between changes, either;

Not intended to start a debate about synthetic vs. conventional oil, but only to suggest that - whatever works, keep on using it, in the case of the OP the oil which is already being used.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,427 Posts
129k?

No need.

Maybe at 250k.

I ran regular 5w20 in my Tacoma at 160k... didn't burn any.

·
Super Moderator
10,125 Posts
For one who goes back the the days of straight 30 and 40-weight oils all these "specialty" oils are is advertising gimmicks to keep you brand loyal - getting you to chose between the brand's "regular," "high mileage" or "SUV" or "whatever" oil rather than buying a competitor's oil.

Meantime I buy whatever "regular" 5W-20 is on sale when I need it and use it in all my cars. If one of the "special" oils is cheaper I'd buy that.