Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got around to installing my Sirius Satellite radio this past weekend. It was really quite simple. Keep in mind I am not an electrical engineer or an audiophile. I will try to take you through the process step-by-step. Please see the pictures in my album for reference (sorry there are not more; my digital camera ran out of juice midway through the install and I didn’t get that many shots). My initial thought was to put the radio where the sunglass holder is. I abandoned that idea when I saw how easy it would be to install the unit in front of the expansive cupholders.

Step 1: Find somebody who knows more about cars and car stereos than you :D <check>

Disassemble the entire center console. Other threads describe in greater detail how to do this so please read the other posts for the best input. I was amazed how easily some of the dash parts “popped off” the center unit. If you feel you are forcing a part, you probably are and should try another angle. I found it easiest to start “under” the parts and gently push and wiggle them until they come loose.

My goal was to “hard wire” the unit to the existing electrical. Turns out I didn’t need to do this. I simply got the face plate (in front the shifter, where the optional switches like heated seats might go; I have a base so nothing is there) off, and pushed the power supply through into the cavity under the stereo head unit (plenty of room under there). The radio will cover the hole that is left, so it does not look unsightly (see album). I am using the 12V socket (i.e. cigarette lighter) adapter that came with my Starmate Replay. No wires or harnesses were harmed in the installation process! No slicing or splicing involved.