Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 Rav 4 Hybrid AWD. I have installed trailer lighting, a 3500 pound/ 350 pound tongue weight hitch, and rear air bags. I will be installing an electric brake controller.
So far, the heaviest thing I’ve towed was our 16 foot boat, which, along with the trailer and motor weighs about 2300 pounds. I towed this 125 miles at near 70 mph with no apparent ill effect. No heating, etc.
We are looking at buying a teardrop camper which when loaded will max out at no more than 2300 pounds.
I’ve read the different figures for US and Canadian cars.
Will someone who actually KNOWS the truth just tell me simply if this vehicle is capable of towing that trailer (estimated loaded tongue weight 200 pounds) without hosing something up?
I have 21,000 miles on the car now.
Thanks!
Bob

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I tow more than the average guy...

I tow a boat and a travel trailer that are about the same weight, the boat is a lot easier to tow since it's not as high, and a lot more aerodynamic. when towing the travel trailer my transmission temps get a lot hotter (even with the external trans oil cooler) I would start by getting something (scangauge or app) to check the temps when pulling the boat, and determine if you need more cooling for a camper...

Reactions: Dr. Dyno

·
Super Moderator
10,133 Posts
I have a 2017 Rav 4 Hybrid AWD.
We are looking at buying a teardrop camper which when loaded will max out at no more than 2300 pounds.
Towing a camper even an aerodynamic one is totally different than a much lower boat. And, from personal experience, if there's a woman involved with the loading :winkyou'll go over the 2300 lbs quickly.
I’ve read the different figures for US and Canadian cars.
And if you check European ratings you may get even more encouragement but I doubt there's any difference in the actual chassis or drivetrain.