Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,370 Posts
The strut boot protects the strut from water, snow, and debris. It is not necessary to replace them unless the strut is toast but with 150,000 miles I am sure they are due for replacement by now.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Anything over 80k is guaranteed worn out. You don't "feel" them unless you are paying attention to them. I used to see daily cars on interstate bobbing up and down at every small bump, and drivers seem to be oblivious. I say "used to" because for two weeks I am working from home.

The OE replacement shocks from Toyota are not expensive, expensive is the labor if you don't do it yourself.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hello all. Newbie here. We picked up an 09 V6 4wd. Has 150k. Drives great. Struts rubber seal gone but still drives ok. Should I replace? Thanks all.
Thanks, is it difficult to do? I'm pretty handy but don't like dealing with springs.
Anything over 80k is guaranteed worn out. You don't "feel" them unless you are paying attention to them. I used to see daily cars on interstate bobbing up and down at every small bump, and drivers seem to be oblivious. I say "used to" because for two weeks I am working from home.

The OE replacement shocks from Toyota are not expensive, expensive is the labor if you don't do it yourself.
You're right, I will replace. I'm sure there's a YouTube video on it. Plus the car has new run flats so bad struts can wear out the tire too. Anything I should replace since I'm in there? Thanks.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hello all. Newbie here. We picked up an 09 V6 4wd. Has 150k. Drives great. Struts rubber seal gone but still drives ok. Should I replace? Thanks all.
Thanks, is it difficult to do? I'm pretty handy but don't like dealing with springs.