Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 405 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought Toyota Techstream and MVCI cable on ebay
2012 Newest V7 11 010 Mini VCI V7 for Toyota Cable Software Tis Techstream | eBay
for $28.99. This is the same software and a similar interface that the dealerships are using to diagnose, upgrade, reset, etc our Rav4s.

I can confirm this system works! I turned off my daytime running lights and removed the seat belt reminder. I also Reset my transmission adapted memory after a transmission rebuilt, watched live streaming data, such as transmission temperature. Wow, where has this been since 2007 when I got my Rav4.

This is making big waves on all the Toyota forums, such as TundraTalk and others Offical TechStream software thread( settings and such) - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum

So, I guess we need to have an official thread here on Rav4World.com! What are your experiences with Techstream and the MiniVCI cable?

Just one thing about this system, it will appear to work, but will not work on a 64 bit operating system. You NEED a 32 bit operating system. Many people are using a virtual machine for this.
 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
I just received mine in the mail yesterday. Installed the Techstream software on the laptop last night, but haven't plugged into the RAV yet to test it. It came with version 7.20.041 of the software on a mini-CD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I found one bug, I posted this on TundraTalk--
I am using Win7 32bit , everything works great. But, when I watch live data, there are four pages of live data and my techstream always crashes within 1 minute if I scroll to the last page of data (transmission temps are on last page). Anyone confirm this?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
9,555 Posts
I put one on my eBay watch list for the next time my eBay Bucks get up that high.
But James, from the list you posted I didn't see much useful to do on my '06 except turning off AC every time I turn on climate control. Not even a way to make the DRLs brighter. :rolleyes:

Are there more hidden in there somewhere like the transmission functions 33k mentioned?
 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
I found one bug, I posted this on TundraTalk--
I am using Win7 32bit , everything works great. But, when I watch live data, there are four pages of live data and my techstream always crashes within 1 minute if I scroll to the last page of data (transmission temps are on last page). Anyone confirm this?
No problem with XP once I installed the latest driver. As you can see my transmission fluid temperature is 99.5:

 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
I put one on my eBay watch list for the next time my eBay Bucks get up that high.
But James, from the list you posted I didn't see much useful to do on my '06 except turning off AC every time I turn on climate control. Not even a way to make the DRLs brighter. :rolleyes:

Are there more hidden in there somewhere like the transmission functions 33k mentioned?
Actually you can! If you go to Main Body Live, and click on Head Light Hi, you can turn on your high beams (and only the high beams) at full brightness even if the headlight switch is off:

 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
I've been playing with the Techstream software tonight, and it seems to do almost anything. Looks like my 600,000 mile extended warranty has run out:



No problem, I'll just turn it back to zero: :)



And now it looks like my 4WD light is on, which is strange since I don't have 4WD: :)



I turned off the DRL's, because I always drive with the headlights on anyway. I also changed the defroster to NOT automatically turn on the A/C compressor so I can control it myself. The dealer would charge a lot more than the 30 bucks this package costs--it's a great deal!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
641 Posts
In the Tire Pressure Monitoring Live tab, can you actually deactivate the dash warning light? If yes, that would be nice for us that install snow tires in the winter but not having extra sensors in the winter set-up . . . .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
318 Posts
Any links or lists of what all you can change with this? On those Tundra forums it sounds like quite a bit, but how much of it is valid for the Rav?

Rick
 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
In the Tire Pressure Monitoring Live tab, can you actually deactivate the dash warning light? If yes, that would be nice for us that install snow tires in the winter but not having extra sensors in the winter set-up . . . .
No, you can turn the light on and off, but when you exit the utility it goes back to whatever state it was originally. You can register a new set of TPMS sensors, and it shows a MAIN and 2nd set in the listing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
I got this a couple of days ago, but need some guidance.
I have a 2012 Rav4 v6, 4x4 sport with the basic security alarm.
Every time I press the unlock to open the door, there are three sounds. horn buzzer and two beeps.

Now,imagine the same three sound every time I try to unlock for doors. A total of 4 beeps, and two horn buzz.

First, I tried to set the setting to open all doors in one unlock press, but I couldn't get it to work.

Then, I tried to set the warn buzzer to be off... Nothing worked..
As soon as I tired to arm or disarm the alarm would go off.

What made it worse was that, my key fob couldn't turn off the alarm. It kept going off until I use the software to reset the settings and use the key fob afterwards. (the alarm was buzzing while I still have the key in the "on" mode, trying to customize the settings.)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
9,555 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,064 Posts
No, you can turn the light on and off, but when you exit the utility it goes back to whatever state it was originally. You can register a new set of TPMS sensors, and it shows a MAIN and 2nd set in the listing.
That sounds like just the ticket for the person who is willing to buy TPMS sensors with his winter wheels. I see that Tire Rack charges an extra$220.00 for a quantity of 4 TPMS sensor mounted into one of their tire+wheel packages. Reasonable enough.

My unit is on order, although I plan to stick with all-season tires.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
9,555 Posts
That sounds like just the ticket for the person who is willing to buy TPMS sensors with his winter wheels. I see that Tire Rack charges an extra $220.00 for a quantity of 4 TPMS sensor mounted into one of their tire+wheel packages. Reasonable enough.
Agreed, that would be the best way to go long term. And the sensors are probably cheaper somewhere on eBay. I suspect you'd have to switch detection from Main to 2nd set and back each time you swapped rims.
 

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
I assume you can also disable the passenger seat belt annoying sound? :)
I'll buy the software just for that!
Yes! Both of mine are set to disabled, so all I get is 5 beeps for the driver and that's it. And the 1-click open all doors is a must have as well. Also I disabled the 10-second beep when one of the doors is ajar and you try to lock them. It's annoying and stupid.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
641 Posts
No, you can turn the light on and off, but when you exit the utility it goes back to whatever state it was originally. You can register a new set of TPMS sensors, and it shows a MAIN and 2nd set in the listing.
Thank you :thumbs_up:

The dealer charges ~$100 to register the second set of TPMS sensors so this will pay the itself several times over. :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,505 Posts
[...]Every time I press the unlock to open the door, there are three sounds. horn buzzer and two beeps.

Now,imagine the same three sound every time I try to unlock for doors. A total of 4 beeps, and two horn buzz.
Can ya dance to it? Sounds like the start of dueling banjos!
 
1 - 20 of 405 Posts
Top