Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here and I guess necessity is the cause of this being my first post. My wife's 2002 RAV4 with an I4 has some sort of engine issue and I think it's the fuel system.

Battery is fine and the system will crank and attempt to fire, but will not actually start. There is a bit of combustion so I reasonably can say compression is fine, as is getting some spark. Plugs and the long boot were replaced in Dec by a mechanic. The engine almost acts like it's out of gas, but it has a 1/2 tank. It suddenly stopped working yesterday.

Based on previous experience with other vehicles, I think it could be the fuel system. I have a couple of questions that I was hoping to ask in advance before I can get home from work today and begin some investigations. I've done some searching here, but am hoping for clarification particularly for this model year...

1) When I turn the key to the on position (not start), shouldn't I hear the fuel pump making some sort of sound to indicate it's priming the system? Usually on most cars you can hear it, or you hear some sort of electrical sound coming from the vehicle, indicating that. I do not hear anything at all and I had her help me last night so I could listen.

2) Assuming that yes, I should hear some sort of sound indicate the fuel system is getting going, doesn't that leave me with checking the fuel relay/EFI relay, then any related fuses, and then checking the pump itself?

3) I don't currently have a voltimeter but I could borrow one. In any case, when I check the relay, I read somewhere that if I shake it and rattles that means it's bad. Can anyone verify?

Thank you!

·
Registered
8,530 Posts