Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to share my experience doing a transfer case fluid change today. I know there are write ups and for those that want to perform this my advice which is you need the right tools. Next you need the steps how to do this. By the way the transfer case is only found on 4wd vehicles so if you have fwd you don't have one. Also this is not to be confused with the rear differential which is at the back of the vehicle.

Now this is my first time doing a transfer case in this vehicle so there was a few things that I learned which I can help pass on. I have a 2009 V6 AWD Sport so the 4 cylinder should be similar.

The transfer case is located some what in the middle of the vehicle. It is just to the left of the engine oil drain bolt if you are looking from under the car. Also it is close to the exhaust pipe.

Tools & Equipment:
For you to do this job without too much stress and problems you should have some tools and equipment.

Hydraulic Lift, Car Ramp, Jack Stand
- Something to lift the car up. You can use car ramps or a hydraulic jack. I don't recommend the one you get with the car. If you are using a hydraulic jack use jack stands for safety. If you use car ramps jack stands would be a good idea also. Now the reason you need something to lift up the car is because there is little room to work under the car. Unless you have a big hole under your driveway you can go under than that will work. I used a 3 ton hydraulic jack. I noticed the rubber pad worn down due to the front jack position is not flat so I cut and placed a small piece of wood on top of the jack pad. For the jack stands I used one rated for 3 tons. I also have hockey pucks under a metal bar on top of the jack stand to prevent crushing the side of the car. All the weight is applied equally on the rubber each side of the puck.

Allen Wrench