Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got an 2001 Rav4 upgraded from the 1999 and Im new to the whole VVT-i thing. Is there any way to bypass is and put a CAI on it or is the little tube thing coming out sufficient enough?

·
Registered
87 Posts
Not meant to flame your attempt at adding or improving the performance in any way, but...

I'd have to bet that the 'yoda engineers (like all the SAE-educated auto engineers at all the auto mfgs) that worked up the intake system most assuredly used every computer and lab model trick in the world to come up with the most efficient intake system for the vehicles basic intended street use.

Certainly there may be an easter egg of a couple extra horses somewhere in there, but for intended street use, you may search a long time and never find it.

If you find yourself running at/near redline patrolling the autobahn, you can try some of the mod-of-the-month trick parts that all those SAE-wannabees of the Internet HotRod Association talk about, but for normal street uses, you might be wasting your money, time, or both.

All just my 2-cents and again not meant to flame, I'm simply looking at it from a practical angle:
If Toyota/BMW/Nissan/Honda/Chebby/Ford/et al thought that "dryer vent" piping and a cone-filter would add HP/torque figures that they could tout to help sell more cars with - then you'd see it under the hood from the factory.

P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Its not only for performance but its for the little bit of gas that will be saved to but apparently from what you guys are saying is that it wont do anything I guess?

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
nfafan said:
All just my 2-cents and again not meant to flame, I'm simply looking at it from a practical angle: