Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been experimenting with using a flash drive for music in my 2015 XLE.

I initially used a small flash drive (~1MB), with few problems. I recently purchased a 64GB drive, made sure it was formatted as FAT32, and put a few albums on it.

The audio system does not recognize the drive, so I'm wondering if anyone here has suggestions and/or answers to the following questions:
1. Have you successfully used a 64GB drive?
2. If not, what it the largest size that does work?
3. Which formatter, if not native to Windows (I'm on 7 Ultimate) did you use? I have a link to the SD Card Formatter software, which I think will work. I also have the HP USB Formatting executable, if anyone can vouch for this.
4. If 32GB is the maximum acceptable size, can I create two partitions on my flash drive of 32GB each and get this to work, probably reading from only one of them?

I spoke with a customer service rep at Toyota and he wouldn't verify that a 32GB drive will work. (If anyone from Toyota read this, how about a software upgrade to allow 64GB, if not larger, flash drives to work.)

Thank you for any assistance.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,922 Posts
I've been experimenting with using a flash drive for music in my 2015 XLE.

I initially used a small flash drive (~1MB), with few problems. I recently purchased a 64GB drive, made sure it was formatted as FAT32, and put a few albums on it.

The audio system does not recognize the drive, so I'm wondering if anyone here has suggestions and/or answers to the following questions:
1. Have you successfully used a 64GB drive?
2. If not, what it the largest size that does work?
3. Which formatter, if not native to Windows (I'm on 7 Ultimate) did you use? I have a link to the SD Card Formatter software, which I think will work. I also have the HP USB Formatting executable, if anyone can vouch for this.