Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, looking to add a little growl to the V6 that i think it deserves.

Am looking at magnaflow mufflers, but looking for a bit of advice re sizing.

Ive seen a post on here about a guy who had a magnaflow 14 inch and said it was very loud, I don't want anything too aggressive just something that will liven up a bit when accelerating.

Im not very experienced with mufflers, do they generally get quieter the larger they are or does it change the tone as well?

I was looking at the 24 inch body magnaflow:

https://www.carid.com/magnaflow/stainless-steel-stainless-steel-oval-bi-direction-silver-exhaust-muffler-mpn-14250.html

This seems to be the largest they do, is there a risk it will be too quiet?

Heard a few people say the resonator at the end needs to come off as well to get a good sound, does this introduce unwanted noise at certain rpms or will it be muffler dependent?

cheers

·
Registered
76 Posts
You can check Youtube where you can hear the different growls from all the different mufflers.
There's only a couple videos on YouTube of v6 rav's with exhaust, and two of them aren't realistic expectations due to the amount of work they out into their setups.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
76 Posts
BTW, I'm very interested in this topic also. I want noise, but little drone.

·
Registered
25 Posts
With a straight through muffler, your last worry will be it being too quiet lol. Get the largest you can find with the proper inlet/outlet and piping diameter and leave the stock piping and resonator after the muffler. You can always remove it later but I believe it's more for drone than volume. I've ordered the v6 y pipe and I'll be ordering the headers soon.
Edit: My comment about leaving the stock portion after the muffler is for cost savings and assuming you plan to stick to near stock diameter piping.

·
Registered
76 Posts