Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm speaking from personal experience. My RAV4 was eating up oil and gas like crazy. Now, that I’ve made some performance upgrades, it’s getting very good mileage. :wink: Even though it has more power and I’m an aggressive driver. Here it goes:

1. Install a header. This is the best bang for the buck that you can have. Of course, don't leave it at that, open up to 2" to 2.25". Cool sound, power, and just a touch on the gas pedal will get you going. Once you see what it had installed. You will know what I mean.

2. Install an oil cooler. Eliminate that ridiculous oil cooler that Toyota put their. When I saw it, I laugh out loud :lol:

3. Install a funnel intake filter AND, keep it clean.

4. When changing your oil, you have to add more oil when you have an after market oil cooler. I add 4 quarts of 5W-30, with one Lucas oil stabilizer.

It works so well, I took it to my local Toyota dealer to see if the Fuel Gauge was working properly. And, yes, I was fine.

Guys, these modes work well, and I've not even touched the timing. It's still at the same timimg the day I pull it out of the show room. :wink:

A

·
0 Posts
mensajero said:
Seriously, I've notice a reduction in gas consumption. Even though once in a while I get desperate with those [God Bless, no harm intended, we are all going to get their sooner or later] old ladies in a big old Chrysler. I just swifly go by and then some :wink: .
Interesting - you claim fuel saving but don't know what your mpg is --- I'm convinced :roll:

By the way - what's a 'header'

A

·
0 Posts
ag0w said:
mensajero said:
Seriously, I've notice a reduction in gas consumption. Even though once in a while I get desperate with those [God Bless, no harm intended, we are all going to get their sooner or later] old ladies in a big old Chrysler. I just swifly go by and then some :wink: .