Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I have a bit of an issue, seems like my 2000 RAV4 is leaking some bright green fluid near the front of the car, and it will only leak when I'm driving. I notice the leak starts to stop when I am parked. I read online that it could be antifreeze/coolant, and I don't believe it's the radiator. Maybe an ac leak? I'll attach some pictures, any advice or info would be great!

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
10,204 Posts
Definitely a coolant leak but coming from the firewall side of the engine it's not the radiator or water pump. Probably a heater hose. May be as simple as tightening or replacing a hose clamp.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your reply, do you know where I should check for the hose first? Or where it might be connected? I'm a little new at this.

·
Registered
408 Posts
Start the engine up, as it warms up, the pressure will build up and the leak should start again. Look for it around the hoses at the back of the engine, as the good Dr said.

·
Registered
609 Posts
When mine leaked like that I had a crack in the radiator tank.
I was able to replace the radiator without unhooking the AC.

But just a hose problem would be nice.

Good luck.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Most bright green coolants have a fluorescent dye in them. Does anyone know if the OEM fluid has it? You might do better looking for a slow leak with a black light.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey guys, need help again, So I opened the hood and looked everywhere, I could not find any leaking hoses. I went online and searched around a bit since the coolant is dripping off of the right of the engine, right under the engine oil, I think it might be the Intake Manifold gasket. Does this ring any bells to anyone?

·
Super Moderator
10,204 Posts
Or I also read it could be freeze plugs...