Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since my family always has lived by cars. [A couple of gas stations] I have had some experience with, hand tools. I have a descent stock of tools that have helped me do everything in my RAv4. This helps because it gives your wallet a break. Simple things like brake pads, spark plugs, oil change etc. are things that you can do in your carport. Of course, you will need some simple but basic tools to do the job. Here is a list of tools that I have at home. I do my own mechanical work on my RAV4 [when I have the time and the knowledge :wink: ] What I don't do is the electrical.

Some advice. A good book or manual will help. But looking at pictures and trying do the work is not all peaches and cream. Always consult an experience mechanic before trying something a little out or your know how.

First of all, you should have a good jack. It should at least lift 2.5 to 3 tons.

6 Jack Stand, 6 tons ea.

Craftsman mm sockets and wrenches [small, medium and large]
8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17mm [3/8, 1/2, 1/4] and extensions, [short, medium, and long]

Dremel gun kit [ask Derek] :wink:

Oil changing kit

Soldering Gun 150/230 watts HD

Tool Box HD [metal, NO plastic]

Channel Lock tool set at least 80 pieces [mm and SAE] a gift 8)

Craftman Tool set, 175 pieces [mm and SAE]

Engine Stand

Timing Light

A Vise

A Creeper

Creeper Seat

A Shop Light [At least 25 feet of wire cord]

Air Gauge

Torque Wrench

2 very big Blue plastic tarp, for the floor.

These are some of the tools that I have. I would love to get an air pressure tank installed. But that is a little more down the road. :roll:

·
Registered
106 Posts
I have a swiss army knife and roll of duct tape. Thats all I've had for years and have had no problems doing brakes, suspensions, porting heads, ETC.

·
Registered
432 Posts