Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
August is over, so it's almost winter up here :wink . For those of you who run winter tires, what do you have, or what will you be getting?

I've been running Nokian Hakkapeliitta 5's on my Camry for the last 6 years, and they've been great to me, but have also had General Tire Altimax Arctic's that worked well and were much cheaper. I'll be looking for an aggressive tread that's good in deep snow, since it's the major thing we've been dealing with out here. I'm interested in the Nokian Nordman line, which looks to be a cheaper line of Nokian winters. Has anyone ever run these?

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
I have 16" Cooper discoverer m+s winter tires. Work well in snow. Nice blocky tread. Stud holes(I dont use them though). Lots of sipes. Although I am no expert, that's just what I have. I haven't tried many other winter tires.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I just bought a2015 XLE a few weeks ago. I just ordered General Altimax Arctics for the Rav. It came with 17's but I decided to go with 16" rims that I got in trade from a buddy and will mount the Generals on the 16's. In the Chicago area you never know what winter combination you will get. Snow, ice, freezing rain, blizzard or a mix of all things, ha-ha. I had General Grabber AT's on my Dodge and they were great. I used them as winter only wheels. As I plan the same for these. Hopefully they will be as good. We will see, as I usually leave for work before the snow plows are out.

·
Registered
166 Posts
... snipped ... For those of you who run winter tires, what do you have, or what will you be getting?
Our new-to-us 2011 RAV needs new summer and winter tires. I'm starting with the winter ones because, as you know, that is the next season for us Canuks and it's only a few months away.