Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before my Rav4 I owned a 1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5. It was a 3.4L 4 speed automatic. Some google searching says it was rated to tow 3500-5000lbs. My Rav4 seems to only be rated for 3000lbs. I don't really understand why. It has way more hp and torque, its AWD, it has a 5 speed auto vs the 4runner's 4 speed auto, their wheel bases are only a couple inches different, it has 4 wheel disk breaks while the 4runner had tiny front disks and rear drums that didn't do much....is it solely because the 4Runner was a Solid rear axle vs the Rav4 having IRS?

I'm curious cause I have a 2000 SeaRay 185BR boat. Fully loaded up for the lake I'm guessing its around 4000lbs. The 4Runner towed it no problem, only struggled on steep hills since it only made like 180hp. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything that is very dangerous. I am a very experienced driver with lots of towing miles. I've just never attempted towing with the Rav4. I'd simply go try it but I don't have a hitch receiver yet. I ordered one from my local NAPA and it's a class 3 rated for 6000lbs, so the computer said. I also ordered a fluid cooler that I'm going to put somewhere when I find space behind the grill lol.

·
Registered
2,478 Posts
The 4Runner has a truck frame and the RAV4 does not. A stronger frame helps increase towing capacity along with engine performance and other towing enhancements (bigger radiator, bigger fans , larger alternator, etc.)

Even the Highlander with the same engine as the RAV4 can tow more (5000 lbs) since it has a stronger frame and possibly a better cooling system.

As for your 4000 lb boat the RAV4 would be able to tow it but safety wise you should not.
Your car insurance can deny any accident claims if they find out it contributed to the accident. Your RAV4 maybe unstable on windy days. Handling around sharp bends may cause problems etc. It is just not worth the risk.

·
Registered